By law, children over the age of 8 and tall over 4″ 9` can sit in the front seat, but experts recommend using booster seats until age 13. TIP: Did you know that local municipal authorities (police stations, fire stations, etc.) Do you have child safety technicians who can help you install and support car seats? If you need help with your car seat, be sure to speak to a certified car seat technician. Your local California Highway Patrol (CHP) may be able to help. Car seat safety is a top priority and starts with the first time you return from the hospital with your newborn. In fact, hospitals require you to have a car seat installed in your vehicle before you leave the hospital with your child. Needless to say, it`s important to protect your children by following California`s car seat laws (and making sure you`re using a car seat that can hold in the event of an accident). Keep your child in rear- and forward-facing seats for as long as possible. Don`t rush to put a child in a booster seat before they`re ready. Booster seats are recommended until a child reaches a height of 4`9″. California law requires all children under the age of two to ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 pounds or more OR is 40 inches tall or more. Some of these requirements may seem excessive, but they exist for good reason. Many of the motor vehicle safety features built into today`s cars are designed for adult bodies, making it unsafe for children to travel in the front seat. For example, even with a sturdy child seat, a five- or six-year-old who can use a forward-facing car seat could be seriously injured by an airbag if placed in the front seat.
Under California law, children must sit in the back seat of a vehicle in an appropriate car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4`9″. Children must remain in a rear-facing car seat until they weigh 40 pounds or more or are at least 40 inches tall. The 2018 car seat laws are the same as in 2017. However, it is important to note that the new laws came into force on January 1, 2017. That doesn`t mean you don`t need a child seat. It just means they don`t need to be in a rear-facing car seat. In all cases, the car seat must be the right size for your child and meet all applicable federal safety standards. Note that drivers cannot ignore a ticket if they do not comply with a California law on booster seats or car seats. Ignoring a ticket leads to two things. These are: Graco Extend2Fit convertible car seat meets the 40″ height/length requirement and supports children up to 49 inches tall. Buy it here on Amazon Prime: amzn.to/2DZl6HM. After 40 lbs, the seat supports children in a forward-facing position up to 65 lbs.
This car seat gives your child as much legroom as possible. Once children are 8 years old OR 4`9″, they can switch from a booster seat to a seat belt, but children are safer in a booster seat until they are 4`9 years old. A child is ready for a booster seat when they have exceeded the weight or size limit of their forward-facing belts. This usually happens around 65 pounds. If parents, guardians or other caregivers use a restraint system in the front seat, they must follow certain child occupant safety guidelines established by the system manufacturer. Penalties for violating California`s child seat law are not severe — a $100 fine for the first violation and a $250 fine for the second violation. In any case, if a person « determines to the satisfaction of the court that he or she is economically disadvantaged, » the court may waive the fine in favor of a municipal education program for child seats. There are three common defenses for car seat injuries.
This includes a defendant who demonstrates that seat belt use for children and adults is essential to the safety of children, the safety of children and the safety of adult motorists. For example, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the use of seat belts in passenger cars saved approximately 14,955 lives in 2017.8 TIP: In general, your child should continue to use a booster seat until they reach 4`9″ or more in height. However, some exceptions can complicate things for worried parents. In addition, some children may need to continue driving in a rear-facing car seat if they have not reached a certain weight or height threshold set by the state. You can buy the Chicco Keyfit infant car seat now here on Amazon Prime: amzn.to/2hlKihC. Yes. A driver who receives a ticket for violating a California car seat law can challenge it with a legal defense. A driver who violates any of California`s car seat laws can cause a car accident. In addition, this accident could cause injury to either a child or another party. If a person subsequently files a personal injury lawsuit against the driver (for such injuries), the driver may be found to be « negligent ». We hope you enjoyed this guide to car seat safety and seat belt laws, and that the vehicle safety information it contains will help you and your family stay safe and legal when traveling on California roads.
Since laws are constantly changing, you should always focus on new annual updates, such as new California car registration fees. Every local California Highway Patrol (CHP) office conducts child seat checks. Contact your local office for appointments, locations and details on car seats, including safety seat check events, by visiting the CSP website. Children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat that weighs 40 pounds or more or is at least 40 inches tall. Since then, seat belt and child seat laws have been passed in every state, and the benefits of holding a child in a car seat or booster seat are widely accepted. California`s Child Seat Belt and Pelvic Restraint Act was updated on January 1, 2017 to protect children in car accidents. Parents need to know the key points of this law to ensure they follow the legal guidelines for the safety of their children – even if they aspire to the days of hot metal slides and helmetless cycling. Car seat violations can affect a personal injury lawsuit. Yes.
Depending on the facts of a case, the state of California could file criminal charges against a person who violates a car seat law, namely a charge of child endangerment. Under California Car Seat Law, a child travels in a rear-facing car seat if: Children must be secured so that the height and weight restrictions specified by the car seat manufacturer are respected. Switching from a rear-facing car seat to a forward-facing seat is something every parent is looking forward to. But you have to be careful not to make the change too soon. Ask everyone who owns that car seat if they like it, and they`ll say YES. It comes under $170 and grows with your child. Children under 8 years of age or under 4`9″ must be secured in the appropriate car seat or booster seat in the rear seat. Children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat until they weigh 40 pounds or more or are at least 40 inches tall. Children must be restrained in such a way that the height and weight restrictions specified by the car seat manufacturer are respected. Children can switch to a forward-facing car seat once they have exceeded the legal limits and manufacturer`s specifications for the rear-facing car seat. Keep in mind that children under 2 years old are 500% safer in a rear-facing car seat than in a forward-facing car seat.
A child is ready for a booster seat when they have exceeded the weight or size limit of their forward-facing belts. This usually happens around 65 pounds. Once children are 8 years old OR 4`9″, they can switch from a booster seat to a seat belt, but children are safer in a booster seat until they are 4`9 years old. All passengers of all ages are subject to California`s seat belt law. The law encourages the use of restraint systems in the rear seat of a vehicle because the airbag systems in the front seat of a vehicle pose a risk to the safety of children. Effective January 1, 2017, the State of California required children under the age of 2 to be in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 pounds or more OR is 40 inches tall or more. This is because children cannot support their heads in the event of an accident. Science and statistics show us that injuries are significantly reduced when children sit in rear-facing car seats until they are 24 months old.
Car seats help keep babies and toddlers safe in your car. Under California law, children in cars must be strapped into a car seat. Find out here the safety laws for your child`s age, as well as which car seat is best and where to have it installed for free. All children under the age of 13 must be in the back seat. California`s Basic Law for Car Seats is set out in vehicle code 27360 VC. This law stipulates that all children eight years of age and under must drive in the back seat of a motor vehicle in an appropriate child restraint system. Depending on the age, height and weight of the child, this restraint system can be a rear-facing seat, a forward-facing seat or a booster seat. The Chicco Keyfit infant car seat and base with car seat is the #1 rated car seat in America for toddlers, according to Consumer Reports. This car seat is amazing for toddlers, but reaches a maximum of 30 inches in height. It comes with inserts for newborns.
Ride-sharing services like Uber and Lyft are also subject to the law, though drivers don`t necessarily provide a car seat. Uber Car Seat and Uber Family are available in select cities, so a user can order a ride with a child seat, which is available for an additional fee.